This page lists the projects and their members. If you are looking for students to recruit into your team, or you don't have a team, please post in the project_team discussion thread.
PS: And to avoid being contacted after your team has formed, please put the team name into the first field of the entry with your name so people know that you are no longer available.
(ASW): Mentored by Andreas
(JPC): Mentored by Jeremy
27May and 01Jun is the presentation date for that team.

Project 1 (JPC, 01Jun): Socialego.me

Provide users with easy-to-use self-metrics for understanding who they are in terms of their Facebook profile, how they compare to their friends and colleagues, and how this changes over time.
Team members:
Ashwin Purohit, purohit@stanford.edu
Thomas Haymore, thomas.haymore@gmail.com
Brian Liu, brianliu@stanford.edu
Felix Huber, fhuber AT stanford DOT edu

Project 2 (JPC, 27May no presentation, but 1 page 8.5x11 handed out to everyone in class): T+'+

Twitter optimizer: create tool to allow users to optimize their tweets
Team members:
Nedu Ottih, cottih@stanford.edu
Maurizio Calo, mcalo012 (AT) this university DOT edu
Diego Molino, molino@stanford.edu
Mike Paulus, mpaulus@stanford.edu
Jeremy Karmel, jkarmel@stanford.edu

Project 3 (ASW, 27May): Team That Makes You Go Hmmm

We're going to explore ways of connecting people's social data to their commerce data. Possible data source could be scraping information from Blippy.
Team members:
Daniel Goodwin, dgoodwin@stanford.edu
Daniel Terry, dterry@stanford.edu
Tony Hsieh, thsieh@stanford.edu
Rob Cosgriff, cosgriff@stanford.edu
Samantha Price, price_samantha@gsb.stanford.edu

Project 5 (JPC, 01Jun): BAnd-wiTH

HappyMap Website Specs page

Team members:
Alex Muller, amuller@stanford.edu
Jose M. Leis, jmdl@stanford.edu
Eshan Singh, esingh@stanford.edu
Shahan Parshad,
shahan.parshad@gmail.com
Tal Rusak, tal@cs.stanford.edu
Kevin Gabayan, kevingabayan gmail com

Project 6 (ASW, 01Jun): Team 4G1G (Online Gaming Revenue Models)

Drawing behavioral marketing inferences from different proposed revenue models of online games
Team members:
Yexiang Tan tyexiang@stanford.edu
Man Ling Lo manling@stanford.edu
Wan Jing Loh wl246@stanford.edu
Bo Zhi See
bozhi@stanford.edu

Project 7 (JPC, 01Jun): Howlly (Geo Social Search Recommendation)

Howlly is a social search recommendation engine that will leverage Foursquare's API to gather users geolocation data to surface relevant content. Specs page: http://www.howlly.com/project-specifications.html
Team members:
Jonathan Golden, jpgolden [at] stanford.edu
Sinit Vitavasiri, sinit@stanford.edu
Stephen Ehikian, sehikian@stanford.edu
Alex Point, point@stanford.edu
Neha Kothari, nkot@stanford.edu
Joe Motyka, jmotyka@stanford.edu

Project 8 (ASW, 27May): PYSCO

(People You Should Check Out) Specs
Create a recommendation engine which improves the efficiency of Skout.com people recommendations
Team members:
Stephen Dean Guo, sdguo@stanford.edu
Yi Lu, Lu_Eleen@gsb.stanford.edu
Sandeep Sripada, ssandeep@stanford.edu
Yinfeng Qin, yinfeng@stanford.edu
Devang Mundhra, dmundhra@stanford.edu
Leo Kung, lhkung@stanford.edu

Project 9 (ASW, 01Jun): Health Socialites

Our goal is to incentivize the collection of health related information from various communities in order to provide both user valuable aggregate information from their locale (ie. health relative to others, health advice from ppl with similar conditions). Our data sources will likely be facebook.com and data.gov
Team members:
Nicholas Hwang nicholas.j.hwang@gmail.com
Evelyn Ling ebling@stanford.edu
David O'Steen daost@stanford.edu
Greg Tang gerghk@stanford.edu

Project 10 (ASW): Social Capital

(fill in short description of project)
Team members:
Noah Burbank, nburbank@stanford.edu

Project 11 (JPC, 27May): Truth or Dare

(Informational Website)
Team members:
Joe Lau, jhlau@stanford.edu
George Tang, gtang7@stanford.edu
Jason Wei, jwei512@stanford.edu

Who is in the class?

I appreciate the rich diversity of the students in class, and am happy that people bring to bear both their academic perspective and their personal experiences. To give you a quick overview of the backgrounds of the students in class, here is the breakdown by departments (as of March 29, 2010, 5pm):
MS&E 237 Sp 2010: Social Data Revolution -- Backgrounds




23 MS&E Masters students


Mgmt Sci & Engineering - Mgmt Sci & Engineering (MS)
23



14 GSB students


Business Administration - (MBA)
12

Business Administration - Sloan Fellows (MSc)
2
23 other graduate students


Electrical Engineer - Electrical Engineering (MS)
7

Mgmt Sci & Engineering - Mgmt Sci & Engineering (PhD)
4

Management - Management (MS)
4

Computer Science - Computer Science (MS)
4

Material Sci & Eng - Materials Science & Engr (MS)
1

Financial Mathematics - Financial Mathematics (MS)
1

East Asian Studies - East Asian Studies (MA)
1

Biomedical Informatics - Biomedical Informatics (MS)
1



18 undergraduate students


Undergraduate Matriculated - Computer Science (BS)
3

Undergraduate Matriculated - Electrical Engineering (BS)
2

Undergraduate Matriculated - Undeclared (B)
2

Undergraduate Matriculated - Economics (BA)
2

Undergraduate Matriculated - Economics (BAH)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Engineering (BS)/MS&E(BS)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Math & Comp Science (BS)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Math & Comp Science (BSH)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Mechanical Engineer (BS)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Mgmt Sci & Engineering (BS)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Political Science (BA)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - STSS (BA)/Hum Bio (Min)
1

Undergraduate Matriculated - Symbolic Systems (BS)
1


80